World License Administration

 
This dialog allows universe administrators to add, change, delete, and examine world licenses. It is accessed from the Options Menu.

Name

This is the name of the world, as it appears in the world list and also as it is specified in the world.ini file of the world server. To look up a world, enter the name here and then press the Lookup button. Note that world names are case insensitive.

Password

This is the world password as it must be specified in the server's world.ini file in order for the world to run. Note that world passwords are case insensitive. Warning: changing the password for an existing world will cause the world to shut down if it is currently running.

Max. Users

This is the maximum number of users that can be in the world at any one time. Universe administrators can change this value at any time and it will take effect immediately (i.e. the world server does not need to be restarted.)

Size

This is the size of the world. The size determines the maximum distance from Ground Zero (i.e. 0N 0W) at which building can occur. The size parameter gives the diameter of the world in meters. For example, a size of 1000 meters means that the world can be built in out to 50 cells in all directions (i.e. out to 50N, 50S, 50E and 50W.) As with the maximum user attribute, universe administrators can change the world size at any time and it will take effect immediately. Warning: in universes with a maximum land limit, increasing this value for a running world will cause the world to shut down if, as a result of the change, the universe land limit is now exceeded.

Owner Email

This specifies the email address of the owner or other individual responsible for this world. This field is for administrator reference only; it is not currently used by Outerworlds for any purpose. It can be left blank.

Comments

The administrator may store any additional notes about the world in this field. As with the owner email, this field is for administrator reference only and is not used by Outerworlds.

Created

This field shows the date at which the world license was first created. It cannot be modified, although deleting a world license and then adding it back again will effectively reset this field to the current date.

Expires

This is the date and time at which the world license expires. When a world license expires, the world will shut down and cannot be restarted until the expiration date is extended via this dialog. Changing this field to a date that is already in the past will effectively disable the world, and also cause it to shut down if it is currently running. To adjust the expiration date, press the Change... button. Note: after changing the expiration date field, you must also press the world Change button in order to store the new changes in the database, or else the change will not take effect.

Last Started

This shows the date and time at which this world was last started.

Last Address

This shows the last IP address this world was known to be running from, if any. This can be useful if you have many worlds hosted at different locations and you can't remember which server is hosting a particular world.

Display In World List

This controls whether or not the world is included in the browser's world list. Worlds that are not displayed in the list are considered "hidden" but can still be accessed normally by users via teleports.

Allow tourists

This controls whether or not tourists may enter this world.

Looking Up A World

To look up a world license, simply enter the name in the name field and press the Lookup button. You can also use the Previous and Next buttons to scan through all world licenses in alphabetical order.

Adding A New World

To add a new world license, simply enter the new name, password, maximum user count, and world size and press the Add button. Also, be sure to verify that the current expiration date is what you want. The owner email and comments fields are optional.

Changing An Existing World

To change an existing world, first look it up by entering the name in the name field and pressing Lookup. Then make any desired changes and press the Change button. The new changes will take effect immediately (the world server does not need to be restarted.) Note: care should be taken when changing existing world licenses, since incorrect values for some of the fields can cause the world to shut down if it is currently running. If this happens, the world will need to be manually restarted.

Deleting A World

To delete a world, simply enter the name in the name field and press the Delete button. If running, the world will shut itself down.